The Labour Party is a democratic socialist party. It believes that by the strength of our common endeavour we achieve more than we achieve alone, so as to create for each of us the means to realise our true potential and for all of us a community in which power, wealth and opportunity are in the hands of the many, not the few, where the rights we enjoy reflect the duties we owe, and where we live together, freely, in a spirit of solidarity, tolerance and respect’
Clause IV, Labour party constitution

Progress is a movement of centre-left Labour party members. We wish to promote a radical and progressive politics and bring about a Labour government to implement the Clause IV values of the party we love. Founded in 1996, we are an independent organisation campaigning for Labour victories at every level of public life.

Through our national and regional events, website and regular publications, we seek to promote open debate and discussion of progressive ideas and policies.

Progress is chaired by Alison McGovern MP. Progress has an elected strategy board representing Progress members, Labour councillors and parliamentarians.

Progress Ltd is a company incorporated in England and Wales. Company number 3109611. The directors of Progress Ltd are: Richard Angell (executive director of Progress); Jennifer Gerber* (former deputy executive director of Progress and former acting executive director of the organisation); Jon Mendelson* (former treasurer of Progress); Robert Philpot* (former executive director of Progress); and Stephen Twigg MP* (former chair of Progress and current honorary president). *unpaid

The company’s registered address is: Westbury, 145-157 St John Street, London, EC1V 4PY

See here for the Progress office contact details.

Membership of Progress is open to all members of the Labour party.  If you are not a member of the Labour party but wish to receive the magazine, you can subscribe to Progress here. As of 1 September 2017, Progress has 3,008 continuing members and subscribers.

Print Friendly