Progress | Centre-left Labour politics
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Progress annual conference 2015: Deciding the decade to come

May 16, 2015 @ 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Progress annual conference 2015
10am-5pm, Saturday 16 May 2015
TUC Congress Centre, Great Russell Street, London, WC1B 3LS

Progress annual conference 2015














Agenda for Progress annual conference 2015:

10am: Introduction
John Woodcock MP Chair, Progress

10.15am: Where did it all go wrong?
Caroline Flint MP Shadow secretary of state for energy and climate change
Wes Streeting MP Ilford North
Mary Riddell Daily Telegraph
John Hannett General secretary, Usdaw
Peter Kellner President, YouGov
Chair: John Woodcock MP Chair, Progress

11.15am: Breakout sessions
It’s the economy, stupid: Time to regain credibility?
Chris Leslie MP Shadow chancellor of the exchequer
Tim Bale Professor, Queen Mary University of London
Victoria Groulef Former parliamentary candidate, Reading West
Kitty Ussher Managing director, Tooley Street Research
Chair: Jo-Ann Robertson Progress strategy board

Doing us proud: Why did some win against the tide?
Ben Bradshaw MP Exeter
Peter Kyle MP Hove
Richard Angell Director, Progress
Sheila Murphy Campaign consultant
Chair: Rachel Hodson Progress strategy board

Why didn’t Labour win over working people?
Liam Byrne MP Shadow minister for universities, science and skills
Maurice Glasman Labour peer
Gemma Doyle Former member of parliament, West Dunbartonshire
Naushabah Khan Former parliamentary candidate, Rochester and Strood
Chris Oxlade Former parliamentary candidate, Crawley
Chair: Felicity Slater Head of partnerships and events, Fabian Society

What happened to the ‘DLY’s?
Ivan Lewis MP Shadow secretary of state for Northern Ireland
Joan Ryan MP Enfield North
Patrick Diamond Professor, Queen Mary University of London and research director, Policy Network
Andrew Pakes Former parliamentary candidate, Milton Keynes South
Chair: Hopi Sen Progress strategy board

What was missing from Labour’s 2015 election offer?
Emma Reynolds MP Shadow secretary of state for communities and local government
Stephen Bush Editor, The Staggers, New Statesman
Neal Lawson Chair, Compass
Lucy Rigby Former parliamentary candidate, Lincoln
Chair: Florence Eshalomi Progress strategy board

12.30pm: Deciding the decade to come: How does Labour win back Britain?
Andy Burnham MP Shadow secretary of state for health
Yvette Cooper MP Shadow home secretary
Mary Creagh MP Shadow secretary of state for international development
Tristram Hunt MP Shadow secretary of state for education
Liz Kendall MP Shadow minister for care and older people
Chair: Simon Fanshawe Broadcaster and writer

1.30pm: Lunch

2:30pm: Breakout sessions
Power in the union: Can Britain share power more widely and still remain better together?
Andrew Adonis Shadow minister for infrastructure
Rupa Huq MP Ealing Central and Acton
Michael Payne Former parliamentary candidate, Newark, and chair, LGiU
Melanie Ward Former parliamentary candidate, Glenrothes
Mary Wimbury Former parliamentary candidate, Aberconwy
Chair: Hywel Lloyd Labour Coast and Country

Social mobility matters: How does Labour meet Britain’s aspirations?
Stephen Twigg MP Shadow minister for constitutional reform
Fiona Twycross AM London assembly
Jeremy Cliffe UK politics correspondent, The Economist
Ros McMullen Principal, LEAF Academy Trust
Chair: Theo Blackwell Progress strategy board

Pro-European and proud: How can we keep Britain in?
Stephen Doughty MP Cardiff South and Penarth
Mary Honeyball MEP European parliament
Ivana Bartoletti Chair, Fabian Women’s Network and vice-chair, Fabian Society
Adam Ludlow ComRes
Chair: Anne Fairweather Member, national executive, Labour Movement for Europe

2020 statecraft: How can public services empower people?
Charles Falconer Shadow secretary of state for justice
Alison McGovern MP Shadow minister for children and families
Nick Bent Former parliamentary candidate, Warrington South
Cat Hobbs Founder, We Own It
Josh MacAlister Chief executive, Frontline
Chair: Paul Brant Progress strategy board

Open Labour: How do we create a party fit to win and govern?
Siobhain McDonagh MP Mitcham and Morden
Johanna Baxter Labour’s NEC
Steve Hart Chair, Class, and chair, Unite Against Facism
Morgan McSweeney Head of group, LGA Labour Group
Chair: Kev Peel Councillor, Manchester city council

4pm: Starting again
Plenary speech by Dan Jarvis MP Shadow minister for justice

4.10pm: Progress Question Time
Stella Creasy MP Shadow minister for competition and consumer affairs
Dan Jarvis MP Shadow minister for justice
Jess Asato Former parliamentary candidate, Norwich North
Owen Jones Commentator and author
Chair: Matt Forde Stand-up comedian and talkSPORT presenter

5.15pm: Close

Media partners:


Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 14.30.41

Progressive centre-ground Labour politics does not come for free.

It takes time, commitment and money to build a fight against the forces of conservatism. If you value the work Progress does, please support us by becoming a member, subscriber or donating.

Our work depends on you.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


May 16, 2015
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Event Tags:


TUC Congress Centre
TUC Congress Centre, 28 Great Russell Street
London, WC1B 3LS



Sign up to our daily roundup email